“Soapbox” Shame

Shame on ‘The Stage’ for publishing the damaging views from one disillusioned supply teacher earlier this week – GCSE drama supply teacher spouts elitist bile. The heading to their ‘soapbox’ feature states

Soapbox is The Stage’s platform for readers and theatremakers to air views anonymously for the greater good of the theatre industry.

For the greater good?? Who, on hearing the pitch for this nonsense, thought “yes, this is for the greater good of theatre… it’s not like there’s already an accessibility issue”

It also reminded me of a (better) article from the Guardian posted a few years ago now, looking at the issue of how acting is a rich man’s game.

Being Posh Helps Actors | The Guardian

 

Unsuccessful Success?

Wrestling with Success | Intermission Magazine

I found this article through someone else’s retweet (I forget who now, sorry). I’m glad I took the time to read it, because it’s something I have been thinking about a lot lately.

I love theatre and arts and I want – need – to be a part of it… but there’s no money in it. You do it for love but for all the outward success – acclaim, awards, magazine features – there is rarely a tangible reward. No, life isn’t about owning material things and, yes, experience is more valuable that money – except you need to have somewhere to live, you need to be able to get around you need to fulfil basic human needs… and these things all require money.

 

The Return of Kimmy Schmidt

On a much lighter note…

Hooray, Season 2 of Tina Fey’s ‘Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt’ is back on Netflix.

Musical theatre references abound through Tituss Burgess’s irrepressible, selfish but completely endearing character Titus Andromedon – an aspiring Broadway star who’s talent is matched only by his, er, laid-back work ethic. One of my favourite lines from season one is where he wails “But I already did something today” #relatable  (I use this hashtag in an ironic Tina Fey sort of way, you understand)

Here’s the Season 2 trailer, and if you haven’t seen season 1 yet… GO. GO NOW AND LEAVE ME.

 

 

